RSS

Today I Made: Basic Tuna Pasta

03 Oct
Today I Made: Basic Tuna Pasta

What’s the best thing to make if a.) you’re in a hurry; b.) you want something that’s not too fatty; c.) your kitchen creativity juices are running low, and d.) you still want something delicious and satisfying? Answer: Tuna Pasta! A few weeks ago I had one of those days wherein I was totally at a loss as to what I should prepare for myself. I knew my weigh in at the gym was just around the corner so  I had to make sure I have my trusty baon  with me wherever I went. I couldn’t think of anything else but Tuna Pasta. This time I relied on my own knowledge from past cooking experiences and from observing different recipes to make this incredibly simple and brainless dish.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Pasta cooked according to package directions

1 pack Nestle all purpose cream

Parmesan Cheese

1 can Century Tuna Lite in Vegetable oil

1 red bell pepper

1 garlic

1 onion

1 tomato

salt and pepper to taste

So first up, you have to cook your pasta noodles. It’s my first time to use Colavita and I think I’m sticking with it. I like how thick and chewy it was after cooking. I just hope they have a wheat variant. I’d be happier knowing that I’m going w/ the lesser evil.

Then get started with the chopping but be careful with your fingers! Start with the garlic and onions

And proceed with chopping the red bell pepper and the tomatoes. I like dishes that give me an excuse to incorporate even just a small amount of veggies.

Get your pan, drizzle with a little bit of olive oil and when it’s heated enough, put in your onions and garlic. Cook until fragrant or until onions are translucent.

Then add in the chopped red bell pepper and tomatoes.

Next, get your canned tuna, drain off the oil, and add it to the pan. Let me just digress a little bit here. I am and always will be a Century Tuna loyalist even if the whole Piolo-KC psuedo love team annoyed the heck out of me. Were they really together because they were in love? Or was it just a ploy to overtake the incredibly aggressive and super effective Dingdong-Marian-San Marino Corned Tuna ad campaign?

Ok enough showbiz talk and lets get back to our cooking. Make sure to lower the heat at this point in time and start pouring in your cream

I know I’m supposed to use a wooden spoon here not this one. But I think I was still able to get the job done. Just stir stir stir in low heat.

This is when you start to season your sauce by adding salt and pepper. Once done, get a spoon and taste a little bit of the sauce. If you’re not happy with the taste then by all means, adjust accordingly.

Next add a few (or make it a LOT!) dashes of Parmesan Cheese. I first discovered this particular brand in S&R and it has been a pantry staple ever since.

Let everything simmer for a few minutes until bubbles start to show

Then add in your cooked pasta.

Make sure to coat the noodles well with the sauce. It was at this point when I thought some bits of crunchy, salty, yummy bacon would make this so much better. But alas, I am trying to stay on the healthy side of things. The bacon will have to wait ‘till another time. 😐

Here’s the finished product. I added a little more sprinkling of parmesan cheese together with a slice of lightly buttered wheat toast. This was an incredibly filling meal that powered me through about 2 hours of intense workout at the gym. It also took me only under 20 minutes to make. Next time however, to make me less guilty of consuming too much carbs I think I should stick with a tomato-based sauce instead of a cream based one.

So there, that’s my Basic Tuna Pasta. No frills, no thrills, just lightly coated noodles infused with the rich flavors of the tuna, garlic, onion, red bell pepper and tomatoes and punctuated with a lovely kick coming from the parmesan cheese. Bon appétit!

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 3, 2011 in Mickie's Cooking

 

Leave a Reply

 
